Rosary repairs and restringing

While at a craft show recently, someone was looking at the rosaries I had for sale. She asked me if I do repairs or restringing. The answer is YES! I have made repairs, replaced lost beads, and restrung rosaries to keep them looking new (or old, depending on the look you’re going for). In time, the metal gets brittle, beads get lost, loops come apart and the rosaries get dirty and sticky with years of use. A good cleaning and refreshing helps to keep the rosary intact for years to come.

Here are before and after pictures of the rosary I remade for her, using her beads and rosary center, new wire and a new crucifix (her old one was missing Jesus and you can’t very well be missing Jesus when praying the rosary). The rosary had belonged to her mother who recently passed away, so it definitely held sentimental value, but she also wanted it to be updated. I used bright silver wire components to freshen it up from the old antique gold ones, but I can also do my best to duplicate what is there if you don’t want the look to change.

Rosary prior to changing the antique gold parts to bright silver, and replacing the broken crucifix. I forgot to take the before picture until I had started taking it apart so it's a little blurry, but you get the idea.

Rosary after changing the wire to bright silver and adding a new crucifix.

Please contact me if you have a rosary that you would like to have repaired, redone or need parts replaced. We can discuss what needs to be done, how much it will cost and the time frame to complete.

This entry was posted in General Info and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rosary repairs and restringing

  1. Eleanor McIntyre says:

    I have a set of rosary beads that i would like repaired. There are no parts missing, the just need restrung. Thank you, Eleanor McIntyre

  2. Michael Hankinson says:

    How do I get my rosary repaired? The chain links are breaking. Do you have a web site and a mailing address? What about estimates for the repair.
    Michael

  3. To Eleanor and Michael:

    I have contacted you through email to get more information. Please let me know if you are interested in pursuing it further. I am happy to make repairs once I know a little bit more about your rosaries and what’s involved. Thanks!

    Denise

  4. Sandy says:

    Hi
    I’d love to have my rosaries restrung.
    They are black onyx with a sterling silver cross and sterling silver middle piece. The links in between the beads have changed color and constantly open up and fall apart. Was wondering if you could help me.

    • Hi Sandy:

      Yes, I would be happy to see about restringing your rosaries for you. I do not use sterling silver components, however, but could reuse your cross and connector. I will email you with more information.

      Thanks,
      Denise

Leave a Reply

