Frozen Chocolate and Peanut Butter Covered Banana Bites

Recently I was asked to bring bananas to a family gathering. I cut up a few and put them out on the buffet, but of course with all of the other great fresh fruit available at this time of year, not many bananas were eaten. I decided to peel them and put them in the freezer, intending to use them for banana bread later.

But before I could make the banana bread, a memory from my childhood came to me one day and I suddenly knew what those bananas were meant to become – frozen chocolate and peanut butter covered bananas! My mom, sister and I used to make these and they’re so good on a hot summer day.

Chocolate and Peanut Butter Covered Frozen Banana Bites

The original recipe calls for halving the bananas across and putting them on Popsicle sticks. Since I already had pieces, I cut them into approximately one inch pieces to make a bite-sized version. That sounds better to me anyhow – either I eat a smaller portion or the chocolate-to-banana ratio is greater. A win-win either way.

Please forgive the photos – I was doing them in a hurry before the chocolate got too cool and the bananas thawed out on me. By the end when I saw that they were a bit blurry there was no going back. Hopefully it gives you the idea!

Frozen Chocolate and Peanut Butter Covered Banana Bites

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz. chocolate coating (I used Ghiradelli 60% bittersweet chips)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 4 bananas (cut into one inch pieces and frozen prior to melting chocolate)
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped peanuts, coconut or granola if desired

Frozen banana chunks – if used before they are frozen they may fall apart easily depending on the ripeness of your bananas

Dark chocolate chips, smooth peanut butter and coconut (optional)

Directions:

  1. Melt the chocolate in the microwave until smooth.
  2. Stir in the peanut butter.
  3. Dip the bananas in the chocolate mixture and drop onto waxed paper.
  4. Coat with peanuts, coconut or granola – do this quickly – you may want a friend to help – because the bananas are frozen the chocolate mixture hardens quickly.
  5. Freeze and enjoy as a quick snack or dessert anytime.

Finished product – at least what was left of them! I had made some with the coconut on top too but they seem to have disappeared…

Store in a zip top bag or airtight container in the freezer. They will keep fresh awhile – I just can’t tell you how long because they’re not likely to stick around!

Bonus tip: At the end when I had just a little bit of melted chocolate left, I found out that mixing the dark chocolate chips with the coconut makes a really good treat itself – sort of a DIY Mounds or Almond Joy cluster!

Mmmm…this is making me hungry! Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipes and Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

