My First Magazine Article

Wow, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted. So much for my New Year’s resolution to do better with my blog! I was recently honored be featured in my first magazine article. Maple Grove Magazine published an article about me and my Rwandan Paper Beads in the February 2013 issue. They highlighted the fact that I am giving back to the hard-working women in Rwanda whenever someone purchases items that I’ve made with paper beads. I love that the hard copy of the magazine includes a close-up photo of the paper beads used as the Table of Contents photo! Here’s a link to read the article online…

Maple Grove Magazine, February, 2013 - I know, I didn't make the cover, but who can compete with a chocolate cake...in February!

Maple Grove Magazine, February, 2013 – I know, I didn’t make the cover, but who can compete with a chocolate cake…in February!

Just today I sent off a shipment of beads, paint brushes and different forms of sealers. The intention is to have the women try a few new methods and determine if there is a better option than the varnish/sealer they’re currently using. My hope is to help them find a great way to finish the beads and then to continue to help supply those products (and more) to them.

Some of the items being sent to the women in Rwanda

Some of the items being sent to the women in Rwanda to continue their bead making craft

How can you help? You can check out the Rwandan paper bead items in my Etsy shop and make a purchase. Or visit me at a craft show if you’re in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area during one of my shows. If you are interested in just sending money or supplies to help support the women, please contact me and I’ll help to make that happen.

If you would like something custom made for you or for a gift, I’m happy to work with you. Not only do I make fun jewelry with the paper beads, but bookmarks, wine glass charms, Christmas ornaments and more. Since the beads are each made by hand, each finished product is unique.

Set of 12 Wine Glass Charms

Set of 12 Wine Glass Charms – smaller sets are available as well

Pink and purple paper bead snowflake ornament (not just for winter!)

Pink and purple paper bead snowflake ornament (not just for winter!)

Paper bead bracelet in red, yellow and green

Paper bead bracelet in red, yellow and green

I look forward to hearing from you Thanks for checking out the article and my Etsy shop. I have some really terrific customers and I’m thankful for all of the wonderful feedback and ideas.

Denise

P.S. You can also follow me on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest!

This entry was posted in Africa, General Info, Products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My First Magazine Article

  1. keycandles says:

    Congratulations on the article!

  2. Pingback: My Television Debut | Deeder the Beader

Leave a Reply

