My Television Debut

Amazingly enough, just a month after I had my first magazine feature, I was contacted by Channel 12, a community cable channel here in the Twin Cities, to do a story about my Rwandan paper beads. Pretty exciting!

The story is a great piece that highlights how I’m helping women in Rwanda both by purchasing beads they make by hand, and then by taking a portion of the proceeds of the sale of items made with those beads to send back tools and supplies to them. They’re able to continue making the paper beads, support themselves and their families, and receive much needed medical attention.

In a recent post I mentioned some of the supplies that I was sending to Rwanda, including new sealers and top-coats for them to test as well as brushes and beads. I plan to continue sending supplies and beads on a quarterly basis throughout this coming year (and beyond!).

If you are interested in learning more about how the beads are made and a little bit about my time in Rwanda, please check out this post.

To see items made with these awesome beads that are available for purchase, please visit my Etsy shop. Feel free to contact me as well – I’m happy to design something special just for you! Not only do you receive a unique piece of jewelry, Christmas ornament, set of wine glass charms or other items, but you are helping to support the women in Africa as well. Doesn’t that make you feel good? šŸ™‚

Finally, if you would like to donate but aren’t interested in making a purchase, I can help to facilitate a monetary that will go directly towards helping the women working in a paper bead cooperative in Rwanda.

Thanks for your interest and support!

Denise (a.k.a. Deeder the Beader)

This entry was posted in Africa, Products, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Television Debut

  1. keycandles says:

    Great exposure, Denise! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

